September 29, 2022

| Print Page | Send to a Friend Home > Publications

IFL Joins Coalition Warning Of Senate Health Compromise

Published Wednesday, December 9, 2009 7:00 am

                                                         December 9, 2009


Senator Mitch McConnell                                                     Senator Jon Kyl

Republican Leader                                                                   Republican Whip

S-231, U.S. Capitol                                                                   S-208, U.S. Capitol

Washington, D.C. 20510                                                        Washington, D.C. 20510



Dear Senators McConnell and Kyl,


Thank you for your leadership in opposing the Democrat healthcare legislation these past many months.  Now that Majority Leader Reid has announced a so-called “compromise” please do not allow him to railroad the Senate into a quick vote on cloture on this bill.  On behalf of conservative leaders we urge you to take every action and use every Senatorial prerogative to gain additional time for the American people to understand how devastating this bill is to America’s economic future and quality healthcare.


Public opinion polls show Americans are opposed to the massive government makeover of our healthcare system.  Based on media reports of the so-called Reid “compromise,” the bill has become even worse:  it is a huge and expensive expansion of Medicare, it establishes the Federal bureaucracy as a stalking horse for government regulation of health insurance, and the bill allows Federal funding for abortions.  When the American people understand these points it is likely that polls will show even greater disapproval.


You have been true statesmen in leading the opposition to the bill so far.  Now that the majority has put together a one-party “compromise” it is critical that Republicans make it clear that you will use every prerogative of the minority to prevent them from jamming this new bill through.   Please use every procedural tool available to you to ensure there is a full debate, including full debate on each amendment, and to ensure ample time for the American people to communicate their opposition to their elected representatives.




Edwin Meese

Former Attorney General


Tim Phillips

President, Americans for Prosperity


David McIntosh

Former Member of Congress, Indiana


Colin Hanna

President, Let Freedom Ring


William Wilson

President, Americans for Limited Government


Duane Parde,

President, National Taxpayers Union


Tom Schatz

President, Council for Citizens Against Government Waste


Craig Shirley

Chairman, Citizens for the Republic


Brent Bozell

President, Media Research Center


Wendy Wright

President, Concerned Women for America


Alfred Regnery

Publisher, American Spectator


Tony Perkins

President, Family Research Council


Brian McManus

Council for Affordable Health Insurance


Jim Martin

President, 60 Plus Association


Jenny Beth Martin

National Coordinator, Tea Party Patriots


William Haygood Shaker

President, American Council for Health Care Reform


J. Bradley Jansen

Director, Center for Financial Privacy & Human Rights


Karen Kerrigan

President, Small Business & Entrepreneurship Council



Karl Ottosen

United States Federation of Small Businesses


T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.

Former Chief Domestic Advisor to President Reagan


Andrea Lafferty

Executive Director, Traditional Values Coalition


Thomas Henry

President, RealCare Insurance Marketing


Gary Bauer

President, American Values


Beverly Gossage

Founder & Director, HSA Benefits Consulting


Tom DeWeese

President, American Policy Center


Susan Carleson

Chairman & CEO, American Civil Rights Union


Ralph F. Weber, CLU


Forest Thigpen

President, Mississippi Center for Public Policy


Kerri (Houston) Toloczko

Senior Vice President for Policy, Institute for Liberty


Marion Edwyn Harrison

Counsel, Free Congress Foundation

The Institute For Liberty 1250 Connecticut Ave, NW, Suite 200 Washington, DC 20036 P: (202) 261-6592 F: (877) 350-6147